Home fifa world cup 2014 FIFA World Cup Winners List And world cup history

FIFA World Cup Winners List And world cup history


World cup Winners list

world cup winners list
Who will be the NEXT ??

The FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) World Cup is the world’s most widely celebrated sporting event. Simply known as World Cup, is the international association football competition by the national teams of the members of FIFA. This championship is awarded every four years  for FIFA world cup winners since the first tournament in 1930 which was held in Uruguay and was won by the hosts. 19 tournaments held, 76 nations have arrived at least once. With five titles, Brazil is the most victorious World Cup team and also the only nation to participate all the world cup tournaments.

Italy four and Germany have three titles. Other champions are Uruguay, who won the very first tournament and Argentina with two titles each. England and France, who have won one each, Present champions, Spain got their first world cup in 2010.

In the table below, full list of previous FIFA World Cup winners, host country, winning team, runners-up and the score everything is presented.

world cup winners list ::

Year Location Venue Attendance Winners Runners-up Final score
1930 Montevideo, Uruguay Estadio Centenario 80,000 world cup winners listUruguay  Argentina 4–2
1934 Rome, Italy Stadio Nazionale PNF 50,000 world cup winners listItaly  Czechoslovakia 2–1
1938 Paris, France Stade Olympique de Colombes 45,000 world cup winners listItaly  Hungary 4–2
1950 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Estádio do Maracanã 174,000 world cup winners listUruguay  Brazil 2–1
1954 Bern, Switzerland Wankdorf Stadium 60,000 world cup winners listWest Germany  Hungary 3–2
1958 Solna, Sweden Råsunda Stadium 51,800 world cup winners listBrazil  Sweden 5–2
1962 Santiago, Chile Estadio Nacional 69,000 world cup winners listBrazil  Czechoslovakia 3–1
1966 London, England Wembley Stadium 93,000 world cup winners listEngland  West Germany 4–2
1970 Mexico City, Mexico Estadio Azteca 107,412 world cup winners listBrazil  Italy 4–1
1974 Munich, West Germany Olympiastadion 75,200 world cup winners listWest Germany  Netherlands 2–1
1978 Buenos Aires, Argentina Estadio Monumental 71,483 world cup winners listArgentina  Netherlands 3–1
1982 Madrid, Spain Santiago Bernabéu 90,000 world cup winners listItaly  West Germany 3–1
1986 Mexico City, Mexico Estadio Azteca 114,600 world cup winners listArgentina  West Germany 3–2
1990 Rome, Italy Stadio Olimpico 73,603 world cup winners listWest Germany  Argentina 1–0
1994 Pasadena, California, United States Rose Bowl 94,194 world cup winners listBrazil  Italy 0–0
1998 Saint-Denis, France Stade de France 80,000 world cup winners listFrance  Brazil 3–0
2002 Yokohama, Japan International Stadium Yokohama 69,029 world cup winners listBrazil  Germany 2–0
2006 Berlin, Germany Olympiastadion 69,000 world cup winners listItaly  France 1–1
2010 Johannesburg, South Africa Soccer City 84,490 world cup winners listSpain  Netherlands 1–0

                        (Table:  world cup winners list /Previous soccer world cup champions)

A brief History on world cup winners list :

After established in 1904, FIFA tried to arrange an international football tournament in 1906.But the early World Cup tournaments were troublesome due to travel and war. Then some South American teams were agreed to travel to Europe for the 1934 and 1938 tournaments. Brazil was probably the only team to compete in both the tournaments.

The Brazil world cup 1950 was the first to incorporate British participants. Primarily they refused to join but in 1946 the agreed FIFA’s invitation. The 1930 champions Uruguay returned after two world cup boycotts. Unfortunately Uruguay won against the host nation Brazil in the match named Maracanazo.

For the first time 24 teams participated in 1982 and then it expanded to 32 in 1998 to create opportunity for more teams from Asia, Africa and North America. About two hundred teams entered the 2002 qualification rounds and a record 2010 world cup.

world cup winners list
world cup winners list

From 1930 to 1970, the Jules Rimet Trophy was awarded to the World Cup winning teams. Originally it was known as World Cup or Coupe du Monde. In1970, Brazil’s third time victory in the tournament permitted them to keep the trophy permanently. In the year 1970 a new trophy was designed as FIFA World Cup Trophy. The new trophy is never awarded to the winning nations invariably. Winners have to retain the trophy at the next tournament and are will be awarded another gold-plated replica.

Also Read: Top 10 highest earning soccer players in the world

                    Top 10 best soccer players in the world

In the year 1954, the World Cup was first televised. Now it can be regarded as the most widely followed and viewed sporting event around the globe. The total audience of all matches of the 2006 World Cup is about 26.29 billion. 715.1 million People watched the final match of this tournament (a ninth of the entire population of the planet).

World Cup strongly impacts the global branding. The host country can foresee a multi-million dollar revenue increase with just this month long event. It is expected that Brazil is expecting to bring in more than $11 billion in revenue for the World Cup 2014.

FIFA introduced its first own mascot or logo in 1966. World Cup Willie was the first world mascot in 1966. Recently official match balls are also specially designed for each world cup.

World Cup Winners List
world cup winners list


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.